Plaza Theatre, 434 Ninth Street N.W., Washington D.C.

In a letter to Moving Picture World,  theatre owner, Tom Moore, writes of the power of advertising.

Moving Picture World,  August 26, 1911:

“Full page advertisement carried in the Washington Herald by the ‘Plaza’ Theater, Washington D.C.”

MPWAug261911“This fall will be a strenuous one for me and I expect good returns. My latest advertising campaign has produced great results, is one of the best investments I have ever made, and is paying 100 per cent  or more. My records show that where I spend $100 a week or more I get double that amount back through the box office.

“My only drawback is ‘theater not large enough.’ No summer business at the Plaza ever equaled the business of today; in fact, we are doing nearly as much as in the best fall weeks, and in consequence expect a banner fall trade.

“I enclose ‘ad’ of last Sunday and with best wishes for the success of the Moving Picture World, remain, very truly yours,

Tom Moore”

Library of Congress Washington, D.CPlaza Theatre, 1915, Library of Congress, Washington D.C.

Cezar Del Valle is the author of the Brooklyn Theatre Index, chosen 2010 Best Book of the Year by the Theatre Historical Society.

He is available for theatre talks and walks in 2014–historical societies, libraries, senior centers, etc.

Leave a Reply

